James Mayes

Blog: Influence vs impressions, TweetReach & conferences

In Conference, Recruitment, Social Media, Twitter, Twitter Tips on February 22, 2011 at 11:58 am

I’ve written before on the value of the backchannel at conferences. It’s something I get huge value from, whether I’m at the event or not. However, I’ve noticed recently the analytics from TweetReach being used more and more often.  I don’t live-tweet events professionally, or indeed organise conferences, so I’ve no reason to pay for full reports.  However, the snippets I’ve seen raise concerns.

Total impressions for 50 #trulondon tweetsTweetReach, so far as I can tell, tracks the tweets on a hashtag, plus those who tweeted them, the retweets, and as a result, the total possible number of views. It’s purely numbers though, and pays no attention to relevance (so far as I can tell).

Imagine, if you will, tweets coming from someone who’s had a career building websites. Maybe he/she has 10,000 followers.  If they then live-tweet a recruiting conference, they may indeed get huge numbers of impressions – but are those impressions a relevant audience. I’d guess probably not.

As an alternative, how about a tweeter with a career in recruitment, live-tweeting a recruiting conference. Maybe 800-1000 followers. I’d hazard a guess there’d be accelerated value through relevancy of audience and subsequent retweets to extended networks.

I therefore have a few questions.

  1. Have I missed something in the TweetReach analytics?
  2. Should a pro live-tweeter maintain separate account for different industry events?
  3. Should a conference organiser actually have the live-tweeter use his/her own account, to ensure greater relevance?

If you’re reading Glenn, I’m not going into the live-tweeting business – I’m just curious!  All thoughts and comments welcome.

 

Leave a Reply

