James Mayes

Blog: The Social Recruiting Conference – #srconf #socialrecruiting

In Community, Conference, Human Resources, Personal Development, Recruitment, Social Media, Social Recruiting on June 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

For me, one of the best events on last year’s social recruiting calendar was #SRConf – organised by Alan and Vic.  There’s a number of reasons why it all came together for me – the venue, the tech support, the great line-up, not to mention some great “corridor conversations” that are often such a key part of these things.

#srconfThey’re doing it all again – and there’s only a week to go.  There’s a selection of great speakers already announced and as per the last event, the focus is very much on practitioners – presenters from firms who are out there, doing this stuff and happy to share the results.  That, for me, sums up Social Recruiting: sharing the results.

There’s no single right way to go about this at the moment, and I’m comfortable in stating a belief that no single vendor can offer the perfect tool or platform – yet. There are a lot of great ideas and a lot of platforms that have made a good start and have an interesting roadmap. There are also a number of early adopters who’ve tried, failed and learnt. These are the stories I enjoyed so much last year, so I’m hoping this year continues to deliver some of those elements.

While Social Recruiting is still young, it’s also moving fast.  This means, moreso than last year, there will be success stories too. I have a rough idea what some of the speakers have been working on, so I very much hope their organisations are open enough to let them share – what could be more social than that!?

Finally, it’s always a pleasure to spend time chewing the industry with Alan.  He’s worked on more projects than I care to name and has a wealth of experience to draw on – but he retains a thirst for knowledge and innovation. Last time we spoke on Skype, I voiced some thoughts on  a particular data source that I feel is being under-used currently – Skype itself. Not my own inspiration, something I actually picked up from a track at Bill Boorman‘s recent #TruDublin event – but great to hear Alan instantly “get” what I meant. I had the overwhelming impression that the rest of the morning would be wiped out for him as he shot off to investigate further!

#SRConf?  Can’t wait!

  1. Many thanks James for such an excellent post about #SRCONF. Great that you will be joining us again this year, esp in a more exciting capacity. See u next week mate 🙂

Leave a Reply

