James Mayes

Blog: Looking forward to Social Media in Recruitment event #smir

In Conference, Recruitment, Social Recruiting on April 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

I’ve been a keen delegate at a couple of Mike’s events in this series before – indeed, the longest running series of recruiting Social Media events in the country, I believe. This time round, for the first time, I’ll be there without a company t-shirt to wear.  Looking forward to focussing on the content of the event and I’ll be live-tweeting the highlights as I go.  At the 2010 event, I went through the Twitter stream after and extracted some highlights – this year, I intend to contribute quite a few more!

The full programme for the event is available here.  Personally, I have a few highlights picked out already….

Vasco Castro – Head of Research at PotentialPark.  I’ve seen him present before and was impressed by the detail and evidence he was able to provide. Engaging and entertaining, it was a session with real depth, not simply theories that others could take away and test.  There’s much talk of the Candidate Experience at present, so it’ll be great to see Castro’s take on what the candidate perspective of social recruiting really is.

Steven Ehrlick – Global VP at the aia ad agency. Not seen him present previously and the ad agency world is one of the few parts of recruitment I’ve not spent time delving into. Should be a great learning experience for me, especially with the transatlantic nature of Steven’s experience.  UK and US recruitment practices seem to constantly be dancing around one another, but never completely aligned. Looking forward to seeing what trends Steven pulls out.

Adam Templeman – an actual practitioner, Head of Resourcing for a power company.  Having introduced social recruiting over the last year there, I’m hoping for a warts and all tale – the value for me is not just in the success stories (every supplier has a client they’ll use for that!) – I want to hear about what went wrong, how that was identified and fixed.  Should be great!

The organiser has already put up a few interviews with key speakers – if you want to join on the day, head on over here.

Leave a Reply

