James Mayes

Blog: 5 ways to die happier?

In Conference, Personal, Personal Development on October 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Over at HRTechEurope last week. Awesome event, especially the Social Enterprise sessions. I have a blog to post on that later, but I wanted to share this short one first.  During one of the sessions, reference was made to a piece by Bronnie Ware, in which she talks about her life in palliative care.  She summarised the five most frequent regrets reported in those last weeks of a patients’ life.

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends
  5. I wish I had let myself be happier

Regrets of the dyingI don’t yet know in what order I’m going to approach these… but raising my awareness of how each impact my life now can only be a good thing for me and those around me. I hope I have a good few years left on this planet and I plan on doing something with them.

The original post is here.

Choose happiness.

Leave a Reply

